Thursday, January 1, 1976

Jerry Garcia - Reflections

Jerry Garcia
Compact Disc
Grateful Dead Records GDCD40082

1. Might As Well
2. Mission in the Rain
3. They Love Each Other
4. I'll Take a Melody
5. It Must Have Been the Roses
6. Tore Up Over You
7. Catfish John
8. Comes a Time

This thinly disguised GD release from the Godchaux era sounds particularly nice to these ears on damp, grey days...especially "Mission in the Rain" and "I'll Take a Melody." There's a kind of subdued sound on this record, which perhaps makes the up-tempo "Tore Up Over You" sound a bit odd, but this album features some catchy songs by one of the most beloved musicians of our time. The closer, "Comes a Time," features a haunting sound with a sort of odd fuzztone.

I happened to catch the Dead playing "They Love Each Other" at the May 5th, 2009, performance at Rosemont. People can say what they will about what sort of justice Bobby's singing gives Jerry's songs, and I'm going to say this: Great music shall not die.